Sunday Stroll: Around Mosteiro

Standard

Now that water is pouring out of the sky and the air temperature is three DEFCONs below Brain-Boil, it’s back to having a Sunday stroll. When I say stroll, for me, this usually means walk for a bit, see something interesting, stop and enjoy it, compose and take a photo, then run to catch everyone else who have disappeared into the forest. After running for a while, I will then stop at fork in track, stand for a moment while I regain my breath, ponder if people are following the marked walk or have decided to take the other track because someone knows there’s a nice waterfall down there. To help me decide which way, my brain will move on to Craig Thomas’s Firefox with its thought-controlled weapons system and wonder if I thought in Russian, would I know which way to go. Thought-controlled weapon’s system? What if you thought about boobs; in Russian? Returning to the task in hand, I will then stress for approximately 2 seconds, consider the trouble I’m going to be in if a certain someone has to wait at the car for an hour until I emerge from the forest like a dazed wild animal, then I’ll see an interesting old wall. Ooh, look…

IMG_6669

IMG_6664

IMG_6670

IMG_6660

One horsepower delivery vehicle. Motor removed for servicing.

IMG_6675

IMG_6663

A shaduf. Ancient counterweighted irrigation method. Origins: Egypt, China?

IMG_6672

IMG_6674

Beer mains?

IMG_6676

A tiled Peugeot bonnet. Only available in the Portuguese market…

IMG_6678

IMG_6680

IMG_6682

3 responses »

We love to hear from people, so please feel free to comment!

