Is life too short to skin a chickpea?

Standard

IMG_6464

You’d think so, wouldn’t you? I certainly thought so after watching Simon Hopkinson Cooks on telly a couple of weeks ago. He swears that it makes the best hummus ever, but really – skinning chickpeas? That sounds like a faff and I do not like faff.

But. I love hummus and you can’t buy it here, or certainly not in any of our local supermarkets. And I’ve never found a recipe I like for it, mainly I now realise because they all include olive oil which makes it taste olive oily. And it’s a great source of protein and fibre and garlic, all of which are very important. So much to my surprise, I found myself skinning chickpeas. It is a bit of a faff but much easier than I assumed it would be. The skins slip off really easily, so all it takes is a little time. And he’s right – it makes the best homemade hummus I’ve ever had – creamy and smooth and delicious.

It’s 38° here at the moment, so sitting inside skinning chickpeas doesn’t seem like such a bad idea after all.

4 responses »

  1. I confess to making hummus with a can of chickpeas [was in a hurry] ,tahini,garlicetc ,was very tasty ..next time it is 38* C i’ll try skinning !!!lvmx

  2. Why not just shove the chickpeas through a stainless steel sieve – the skins will stay behind, and you’ll be able to eat the hummus sooner 🙂

    • Wouldn’t the time saved be spent later in trying to wash the gunk off the sieve?! They seem to be one of those things that is impossible to clean – by me, anyway. Fortunately, I don’t have to do the dishes very often!

      Sarah

We love to hear from people, so please feel free to comment!

