A weekend away

Standard

Lavenham 2

A couple of weeks ago, we had a lovely weekend away, visiting David’s great aunt in Suffolk. Actually, she isn’t really an aunt – she is his grandmother’s cousin, but I don’t have a clue what actual relation that makes her and great aunt seems to suit.

She has lived in the same village in Suffolk for longer than the 22 years that D and I have been together (yes, 22 years!) and it feels like another home for us. We felt quite old reminiscing about the pub before the top floor burnt down, where the village shop used to be, which houses used to have bigger gardens that now have other houses built on them.

We had a trip to Lavenham on Sunday, a really pretty medieval town full of half-timbered buildings. We found a pub which did a veggie Sunday roast (whoo hoo!) and had a quick walk around – the sun which had been out all morning disappeared while we were in the pub, replaced by grey clouds and a biting wind. Our evenings were spent in front of the wood burner, eating, drinking, chatting and eating some more. A pretty darn good way to spend a weekend really.

Lavenham

Lavenham 3

We have a plan for getting most some of our stuff down to Portugal. We need to take whatever we need for the next four months in our car and then Mum & Dad will come down later, bringing as much of the rest as they can get in their car. We’ve had a ‘practice pack’ and discovered that the two cars between them will take far more than I thought they would. I was very organised and made a note of how many suitcases/storage boxes/bags of various sizes will fit in each car – now I just need to sort and repack everything to fit in said suitcases/storage boxes/bags. It dawned on me that I could get some of those vacuum storage bags to pack more clothes into our suitcases, so those are on the list to buy. It looks like putting the kayak on the car isn’t going to add hugely the ferry cost either so it is all coming together.

Slightly off topic (is there a topic?) – while typing this, I am listening to Flame Trees by Jimmy Barnes. Our Australian readers might be amused by a story from when we first moved to Australia in 1997. Other than Kylie and John Farnham, very little Australian music had made it to the UK that I knew of, so almost everything I heard was new to me. I started listening to Triple M on the radio at work and would come home and tell David about this great new music I’d heard – ‘Throw Your Arms Around Me’ by Hunters and Collectors, ‘Khe Sanh’ by Cold Chisel, ‘What About Me’ by Moving Pictures….. David thought this was hilarious – Triple M played ‘classic rock’ (he calls it bogan music) of the 60s, 70s and 80s and most of the ‘new’ music I liked was at least 10 years old.

What can I say? My name is Sarah and I am a bogan.

3 responses »

  1. Brilliant old buildings. Do occupants need some kind of special permission to stay in them? Surely they must be unsafe? And on a different subject, in the version of this post that I am seeing, your text is immediately followed by an advertisement involving a schematic skull containing a brain, divided into segments allowing speed, attention, memory etc. Not attributes usually demonstrated by the bogans of the world. Respect to the grand old Margaret.

  2. Hi Sarah, wow what a revelation, it’s good to let your inner bogan out. Would you like me to send over some V8 supercar merchandise? I am Ford.

We love to hear from people, so please feel free to comment!

